top of page



RIBA Cornwall is the local branch for members of The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).  The RIBA was founded in 1834 and its purpose is to champion better buildings, communities and the environment through architecture and our members.


In Cornwall a range of training is offered throughout the year in the form of the City CPD Club.  We are also involved in education, offering scholarships and competitions to students and children.


The branch organisers a number of events throughout the year aiming at connecting with the public and other related industries.  We also work with Cornwall Council to provide design advice via the Design Review Panels as well as liaising directly with the Council on general planning issues.


We are funded by RIBA SW Local Initiative Funds (LIF), along with RIBA Cornwall Branch Funds and Sponsorship.


In addition to our AGM, the branch aims to meet 2-3 times a year, usually in conjunction with another event.  For more information visit our Events page.




Contact us at



Joint Chairs    Helen Brooks           Atelier Helen Brooks

                       Richard Tosic           Richard Tosic Architect


Immediate Past Chair               

                       Jason Jarvis             Create South West


Vice Chair      David Edmondson    Torbay Council      


Secretary        Vacant 


Treasurer        Matthew Wills          PBWC Architects Ltd


Architect’s Benevolent Society (ABS)    John Wilks






South West Chair                                  Jane Hamlyn                       Atelier 3 Ltd


Immediate Past South West Chair        Rachael Gaunt                    PBWC Architects Ltd


Regional Councillor                               Graham Devine                  LHC Design





Together with Plymouth & Exeter Branches, Cornwall forms the RIBA South West Region.  To contact the office email


Regional Director                                                                  Jon Watkins


Project Manager: Skills and Business Development            Catherine Gandon


Project Co-ordinator: Skills and Business Development      Michelle Taylor


Architectural Communities Co-ordinator                               Claire Bower


Project Co-ordinator: Outreach                                             Vikki Schwalb










Jason Jarvis                  2018-2020

Cian Spowart                 2016-2018

Jane Hamlyn                  2014-2016

Matthew Wills                 2012-2014

Tim Hancock                  2010-2012

Robert Burrows              2008-2010

Mark Kemp                    2006—2008

Gareth Jones                 2004—2006

Neil Tibbits                     2002-2004

Robert Winter                 2000-2002

John Tanner                  1998—2000

John Wilks                     1996—1998

Chris Smith                    1994—1996

Dilwyn Lloyd                  1992—1994

Michael R. Bradbury     1990—1992

Alan Leather                  1988—1990

RIBA South West       

Unit 4.8 Paintworks, Bath Road, Bristol, BS4 3EH

0117 972 3777


66 Portland Place, London, W1B 1AD

020 7580 5533

bottom of page